Oddment! Tweak!

Watch the fangirly nerd as she fangirls and acts nerdy!

I think my tongue is broken October 14, 2009

Hi, guys!
Today has been pretty awesome. I learned some Latin and read some Hobbit and played some guitar. I learned how to play part of Big Rock Candy Mountain (la la la I painted my cat blue). Maria came over and we did some surprisingly relatively painless math. It was probably relatively painless partly because I’ve already done this stuff before, but still. Also, it was Maria. And I love Maria. She’s just such a nice person.

Also, if you subscribe to my vlog (bookwormdaisy), then you’ll know all about the Ferret/Monkey/Chinchilla/Lemur. I’m sorry if you already know this story, but it just has to be told.

So yesterday, Thea, Kim and I were reading Sir Gawain and the Not So Jolly Green Giant Green Knight, and Max and Miles (Thea’s older brothers) walked in. Here is the dialogue that occured:

Miles: We are not the weirdest people in this neighborhood.

Me: You… aren’t?

Miles: The Baileys have a monkey in their garage.

Me: …?

So it turns out, Max and Miles were just walking or something, and they saw into the Baileys’ garage, and they saw A MONKEY OR LEMUR OR SOMETHING JUMPING AROUND IN A CAGE. I know. And it *did* occur to me (actually, it occurred to Kim first, and then it made sense) that Max and Miles might have been lying. Many teenage boys like lying to their little sisters. Especially about monkeys…?

So Thea and I tried to see into the tiny garage window, but it was covered up with a little piece of paper or something, so we couldn’t see in. So we disguised ourselves (ever so brilliantly), Thea as a boy and me with different clothes. And glasses. And we walked up to the Baileys’ house, knocked on the door, and a lady answered.

Me: Hi, my friend dared me to come up to all the houses on this street and ask people if they were keeping anything weird in their garage.

Thea: *giggle*

Lady: Um… we have a lot of weird things in our garage. I couldn’t really name them all. We have some license plates from the 50’s and some old hubcaps.

My brain: Like… monkeys?

Me: Okay. Thanks.

And a strange thing I noticed was that she was wearing those plastic glove things, and I was like, “Hmmm… monkey gloves?”

Curious.

So Thea crept up to the window again to see if she could see the monkey thing. She glanced at it and hissed, “DAISY. It’s a chinchilla.” And I was like, “A chinchilla?”

So I sneaked (snuck?) up to the window and peered in. If you looked down past the paper you could see a rabbit cage. I said, “I only see a cage. And a shadow.” And Thea was like, “That’s it.” So I looked at it again and saw something black, furry, and asleep. “OHMYGOD is that a chinchilla?”

The moral of this story is that people are weird. And have things that are possible monkeys or chinchillas or lemurs. Also, it was jumping when Max and Miles saw it. Apparently. I’m pretty sure chinchillas don’t jump.

Bye!

Awesome: NINJAS!
Unawesome: Smaug. Sorry. That was the only thing I could currently think of that was unawesome.

Days until Wrockstock: 23
Days until the House Party: 7
Days until my birthday: 16
Days until Halloween: 17

 

2 Responses to “I think my tongue is broken”

  1. Mum Says:

    Monkey gloves! I laughed so hard when I saw this story on your 100% Made of Awesome vlog. ❤

  2. Daisy Says:

    Aww, thanks! Xoxo


Leave a Reply

